Lesson #2: You can’t do it, alone 

beach

A few weeks ago I heard about a book which was described to me as the ‘Holy Grail’ when it comes to offering career advice to ambitious women. As someone who is technically classed as ambitious (the nice type) I naturally thought I should buy it to see what all the fuss was about.

I read the book from cover to cover but only one chapter stuck with me and has been playing on my mind ever since. It talked about how as women, when a new career or life opportunity arises which scares us, we automatically say to ourselves: “I can’t do it.” Having that attitude some would say automatically means that actually, no you can’t do it. But the book went on to argue that really it’s more about how you “can’t do it, alone” and honestly, I couldn’t have put it better myself.

For any men out there reading this, you’ll be pleased to know that I’m not going to use my blog to preach about women’s rights in the office (especially not on International Women’s Day) because I personally believe we’re all equal and that you’re in charge of how fast (or slow) you want to move in life. What I do want to talk about is just how important I think your friends, family and network are to you throughout your life and how you must do all you can to take care of them.

Over a span of 28 years and mainly through living in London, I’ve managed to meet thousands of people who are all different in so many, quirky little ways.

I’ve met people with fascinating stories who have taught me a great deal about what choices you should make as well as what choices you absolutely should not make in life if you want to retain friends and credibility. I have friends who have immense strength and grit who I admire for holding it together as well as people who you find out genuinely care for your wellbeing.

If it wasn’t for my bosses and my current boss in particular, I wouldn’t be where I am had they not taken a risk on me…which paid off of course (I keep telling them that).
Then there are those who give you a short, sharp shock and help you learn the true meaning of the expression ‘wolf in sheep’s clothing’. My advice: run as fast as you can from those people and don’t look back.

So you see, you meet so many people in life and good or bad, they’ll teach you something about yourself. Look after the good ones and forget the rest.

V

3 thoughts on “Lesson #2: You can’t do it, alone 

Leave a comment